I Lost the Recipe

Sometimes it’s fun to take an image that you’re not sure about, and try new ways of processing it.  I played around with this one for a while trying all sorts of effects to get something interesting.  By the time I was satisfied with the final product, there was no way I would’ve been able to tell you my post-processing recipe.  But regardless of what I ended up doing, I think I enjoyed the creative process of coming to the final image more than the final image itself.

And here’s the original tonemapped image before I started working on it.

6 thoughts on “I Lost the Recipe

  1. LOL – I know exactly what you mean, Steven. Been there many times.

    I really like the final product, although the original tonemapping came out quite well. The textured look and slanted lines of the final are very nice. Great job, man.

  2. I know what you mean about remembering your processing. I always post how I processed my images on each post so make a note (hey it works for me!)
    Good job. I like the original tonemapped image the best although the sun looks better in your textured version.

  3. That sounds so familiar – I keep telling myself to keep a record of when I ‘derive’ an image by ‘doodling’ and then forget! That’s an effective treatment, brings it closer to illustration but there’s nothing wrong with that in my book. Well managed.

Leave a Reply

