Salt Marsh

As I mentioned yesterday, I was up early on Monday for some sunrise shooting in Gloucester, MA.  Although it’s known as a vibrant fishing community, there are other parts that are far less commercial but equally photogenic.  With that in mind, I chose to visit the salt marshes this time around.  I’ve always really enjoyed photographing them, but I went there this time mostly because I didn’t get going soon enough to reach the harbor by sunrise. 🙂

While I made it here just as the sun was coming up, I was disappointed that there was not a single cloud in the sky, so I decided to try some different things.  This image is a five shot panorama that I created in CS5.  It was my first time trying this technique, and it will require a great deal of practice to learn the nuances of combining multiple shots in varying light (I already know that I should’ve bracketed each shot for more control of the final product).  I’m definitely up for the challenge, however, as I really like what’s possible when creating panoramic images.  Cloudless sky aside, I’d love to get your feedback on this one, as your input will help me further develop my skills in this area.  Thanks.

15 thoughts on “Salt Marsh

  1. This is a very nice pano, Steven. Love the colors and reflection.
    For some odd reason, I’ve yet to shoot any panos. You’ve encouraged me to step up my game and get a little experience in that area. 😉
    Nice work, man.

  2. I think you’ve done a very good job except just possibly in the gradations in the sky – but that always seems to be the hardest area. I’ve taken a few of these, hand-held always, in mountain environments and found Photoshop does a good job of stitching them together, but I think the most images I’ve stitched together is three so far.

  3. Great shot Steven. To get the even lighting across the scene, you should not have the camera set to any other modes than Manual. As you move, the camera will make slight changes to the settings – you need to control that. So take a test shot of the area you want to combine into a pano, find the brightest part and find an exposure that does not result in blinkies. Take the setting of that photo, and program your camera to those numbers Manual mode. Focus on the main subject and lock focus in as well…and shoot.

    I did a little write up about pano’s on my blurb a while back – take a look – http://imagesbyjw.com/2011/06/16/just-a-view/

  4. I like this alot. Sometimes, when the shy is absent of beautiful colors for me, I like to make the photo a little warmer. It seems to envoke a good feeling for the viewer. This is fantastic as is though. Well done.

  5. Pingback: Lone Boat « Perlmutter Photography

Leave a Reply

