The Jetty

Every year around mid-September, many of the beaches near us begin to allow dogs again.  As we visit these beaches quite frequently during the summer, and are forced to do so without the dog, my wife and kids jump at the opportunity this time every year to hit the local beach scene with the dog in tow.  On this trip, like many others, I also brought the camera and tripod and did some shooting while the dog was running around.  This is the beach on Plum Island, and is one of several stone jetties along the coast.   This is one of the larger ones, and allows many different compositional possibilities, although for this one, I chose a fairly straightforward comp.  And for whatever reason, I just like the simplicity of the final product.

7 thoughts on “The Jetty

  1. Awesome! OK, so this image normally I think I would have thrown into a silvery mono. However, I love the color in it. It’s soft and kinda oldish, especially the blues. Looks great.

  2. What strikes me about this is the way the sky echoes the soft colours of the stones of the jetty. Excellent POV. it has a feeling of isolation too – ‘the lonely sea and the sky’ – as in one of those poems I remember having to read at school (many years ago).

Leave a Reply

