Famous Shack

Yes, this is the famous Motif #1, the fishing shack in Rockport, MA known for being the most often-painted building in America.  And yes, it’s also one of the most photographed buildings as well.  But I just needed to have a go at it.  I’ve lived in New England my whole life, and have been somewhat serious about my photography for many years, and yet I had never come to this picturesque spot to capture what so many others have.  While certainly not my best work, there’s something about it I really like.  The boats are blurred from the long exposure (I wasn’t able to get a still shot of the boats that I could mask in accurately), but I like the colors and the movement of the clouds.

Even though it’s virtually impossible to create a truly unique shot of an iconic location like this, it’s still one of those images that I wanted to capture for myself.  I have some others from this shoot that I’ll share in future posts.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 18-70, f/13, 48mm, 59 seconds, B+W ND-10

9 thoughts on “Famous Shack

  1. Pingback: Me and the Buoys « Perlmutter Photography

Leave a Reply

