Blustery

Well it’s back to Kittery, Maine for today’s image.  This is the pier located at the tip of Gerrish Island, right next to Fort Foster which I posted about the other day.  I took this shot last week on one of the windiest days I can remember.  That plus the cold temperatures made it almost impossible for a) my tripod to stay still, and b) me to try more than one angle/composition for this shot.  I had on my super-macho fingerless gloves with the foldover top, a hat,  and as many layers as I could get on, and yet it was still miserable.  I’m definitely pleased with how this shot came out, but I do want to come back and try some different compositions on a day where the wind and weather will make it easier on me.  This time of year in the northeast certainly requires an extra dose of “suck it up” if you want to get out there and still get your shots, and I apparently forgot to take mine last week.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 18-70, f/5.6, 22mm, ND10, 8 and 30 second exposures

14 thoughts on “Blustery

  1. Really great one today Steven! Agreed about the northeast….I was out yesterday in zero degree weather…light snow and terrible wind that didn’t want to quit. And truth be told I got zero images. Winter can be a gruel mistress even here in Vermont away from the ocean.

  2. Man this fantastic! The water almost looks like a fog and the motion of the clouds is just great. I can sympathize with you about the cold, we’ve had temps in the teens the last few days and I’ve refused to take my dose of “suck-it-up”!

  3. ‘No gain without pain’ as the saying goes. That was worth the effort – misty milkiness to the water, glistening rocks and a great sky. Hard work but very nice work. Well done.

  4. Pingback: Blustery II « Perlmutter Photography

Leave a Reply

