Pick A Spot

Good morning.  I hope everyone had a nice and relaxing weekend.  Well, I’m back blogging again after taking most of last week off.  I was quite sick most of the week, and did not press the shutter or process an image, and I barely touched my computer other than two quick posts early last week.   I sincerely appreciate all your visits and comments, and my apologies for not visiting your blogs and sites while I was on the mend.  I hoping that I’m now back to almost full strength, and I’m looking forward to catching up on all of your wonderful images and posts.

Today’s post was my first attempt at a parking garage HDR.  I found this empty level as I was exploring some of the old mills in Lawrence, and couldn’t resist snapping off a few brackets.   To me, parking garages are some of the best places to create HDR images.  They’re always so gritty, poorly lit, and full of textures and character, and they also provide so many options for post-processing.  I tried several different looks with this shot, and found that this one seemed to work best.  I’ll probably come back to the brackets in a few months and see what kind of different look I can get.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 18-70, f/11, 18mm, 3 brackets

6 thoughts on “Pick A Spot

  1. Glad you’re back up to full speed, Steven. 🙂

    Great HDR work on the garage, man. I love these parking facilities, just something about them. Most look about the same, until you photograph them. Then they suddenly show a special character. I like the POV you chose here.

    I haven’t done one of these in awhile, you’ve got me on the hunt now. 🙂
    Here’s my last one: http://jimijonesvisuals.com/level-6/

  2. It’s good to see you back in action, Steven. Our bodies know when we need some down time…it forces us into it because we certainly wouldn’t do it on our own! Great picture! I used to work in Lawrence, and as such, your shots around that city bring back fond memories for me.

    Best,
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

