Gussy’s Girls

Today’s post is another image from my trip up to Rockport, MA in late November.  As it was my first time there, I was trying a variety of different angles and perspectives on Motif #1, the famous fishing shack you see in the background.  When I was done, I came home and started reviewing the shots to see how I did.  I immediately processed the shots I thought were keepers, and left the majority of them for another time.  

So I was revisiting these shots the other day, and when I saw this one, I was so glad I had hung on to the non-keepers.  I immediately saw something in the original files this time around which I hadn’t seen before, and processed it with that vision in mind.  You hear it all the time, but there’s definitely something to be said about coming back to images a while after you shoot them.  You’re almost guaranteed to see something different the second or third time around.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 18-70, f/13, 29mm, 3 brackets

11 thoughts on “Gussy’s Girls

  1. Love the moody feel to this, and the contrast between the soft out of focus background and the sharp totally still water in the foreground. I’ve been there too! I think sometimes we have pre-planned concepts of what we expected to capture at the time and we therefore by-pass images that don’t match that idea. Coming back later with a fresh viewpoint often reveals hidden gems – nice one.

  2. Pingback: Rezalutions 88 Links That Are Like Crack for Photographers –

Leave a Reply

