Icy River

Good morning and happy Monday.  I’m back at it again after a wonderful ski vacation last week with my family.  We had an incredible time, and although I barely touched my camera during the week, I did manage to get a few shots here and there.  Today’s image is from a short hike I took with my son to Sabbaday Falls on one of the days we didn’t ski.  The lure of this hike is of course the falls itself, but there’s also the short distance to get to it from the parking lot which is helpful when hiking with an 8 year old.  Unfortunately, so much of the falls was frozen over that we couldn’t really get a good glimpse of it.  I did manage to get this shot of the river a few hundred yards down from the falls on our way up, as well as several others I’ll share soon.  Thanks for your visits last week while I was gone, and I’m looking forward to catching up on your blogs and images.

Camera settings: ISO 200, f/11, 18m, 1/15 second

11 thoughts on “Icy River

  1. Posted a snowed-in river myself this morning! Glad you had a good ski trip. You’ve found a great composition here and I can see the striations in the snow – like laminates – showing the build up of snow, layer upon layer. That is a feature that really adds such a lot to this. And not a foot print in sight – a great find.

Leave a Reply

