Stir of Trade

It’s been a while since I posted a shot from Newburyport, so I thought I’d dig into the archives for one today.  This was taken right in downtown, and contrary to the lack of snow, it was taken just a few days after Christmas.  Now this is the type of shot that I’d normally process as an HDR, but for some reason I just liked the way the O EV bracket looked on its own.  I made a few slight tweaks in Lightroom, but that was about it.  I did consider masking/cloning out the mysterious woman in the middle (who was standing oddly still for a 4 second exposure btw), but then decided to keep her to add some human interest.  On a side note, this is one of my ongoing internal debates about my photography – whether to have people in my images or not.   While I do prefer to keep my images free of people, sometimes there are images like this one where having people in it actually works.  I suppose I usually just end up doing what feels right for each image.   What do you think?

Camera settings: ISO 200, f/8, 18mm, 4 seconds

10 thoughts on “Stir of Trade

  1. Beautiful light in this scene Steven. I really have to check out Newburyport soon. As far as people in my shots, I am like you. I prefer no people but include them at times to show scale or add the human interest.

  2. Nice tone and composition, Steven. Pretty well balanced and almost looks tone mapped. Hey, as far as people in shots, I usually let em be and let the Nik software handle the positioning. But, like you said, you do what feels right for each image. I agree!

  3. Great image today steven..i like the low perspective! I prefer no people in my images because i like landscapes without human influence be it people or man made objects. However i am not against it when the composition calls for it!

  4. Pingback: Photography Links That Will Rock Your World « « Gregory DeeseGregory Deese

Leave a Reply

