Rays of Light

Happy Tuesday, and I hope everyone had a nice long holiday weekend.  Have you ever had one of those times where you keep trying to find the right composition at the right moment, but each time you set up you wish you had stayed in the spot you were just in?  That’s how my morning on Plum Island went this past weekend.  Each time I moved from the wide angle shots of the boardwalk and sky to some abstract shots of the waves and sand, and vice versa, the lighting conditions kept making me wish I stayed put.   Finally, long after the sun had risen, the light and the clouds conspired together and presented me with this shot.   As for processing, I blended two exposures – one of the boardwalk and grass, and one of the sky – in PS to balance the contrast of the scene.

Camera settings: ISO 200, f/13, 24 mm, 2 exposures blended in PS

9 thoughts on “Rays of Light

  1. What a lot of people don’t realize is how much a small change in light make the biggest difference in a photo. Patience (not my strong suit) is required. This is nicely framed with the bridge acting as a wonderful leading line Steven.

  2. This shot just makes me want to take a peek over that horizon. Perfect POV and the processing is just right. I understand the problem you describe so well. The only way to solve it is a second camera body – hopefully I will have another soon.

  3. Pingback: The Triple Bypass Photography Link List » Latest News Update | Latest News Update

Leave a Reply

