Red Dory

I couldn’t decide between “Red Dory” and “Dory Dory Hallelujah” for the title of this post.  Did I make the right call?  🙂

Anyway.  This past weekend I participated in a photo safari in Gloucester sponsored by Sigma, Hunt’s Photo & Video, and the Gloucester Maritime Center.  It was led by professional photographer David Fitzsimmons, and was a great opportunity to photograph parts of the area that I hadn’t been to before.  And more importantly, I got to try out a variety of Sigma lenses during the event.   While I certainly had fun playing with the 15mm fisheye and the 70-200 f/2.8, I really enjoyed using the 8-16mm ultra-wide angle lens the most.  I hadn’t used a ultra-wide before and was very pleased with how this one performed.  It’s wide angle of view, incredible sharpness,  and manageable distortion even at 8mm definitely put this lens on my wish list.

This red dory seemed tailor-made for an ultra-wide lens, and I spent a lot of time trying different angles and vantage points with the 8-16.  So far this image is my favorite, but I still have many more to review and process.  I was drawn to the colors of the boat and the lines in the dock, and I just love the perspective that this lens allowed me to create.

10 thoughts on “Red Dory

  1. Cool composition Steven. Those fisheyes are cool. I used one at Grand Central Station this weekend and was impressed. Nice call on the title…

  2. I love that vivid red! I’ll be honest with you though, I’m not the most fond of the sky alternating from dark to light. The POV is pretty damn cool though!

Leave a Reply

