The Office

Well you’ve probably noticed by now that my blog has a completely new look and feel.  As I approach my first full year of photo blogging, I felt as though I needed a new design and layout to keep things fresh.  I’m still playing around with some things, and even posted a new image yesterday by mistake as I figure everything out, but I’m liking the new look.

Today’s image is another from the Stone Mill in Lawrence.   I try to imagine what it must be like to have this room as an office.  You have the nice light coming in from the big old windows, but that’s where the charm would end for me.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s a much better photo subject than usable office space, and is one of several such places in the mill.  I’ve seen some beautiful shots of this same room by other local photographers, and wanted to put my own spin on it.  When shooting places or locations that have been captured in the past by others, I try very hard to be inspired by the work of those before me, but be sure to add my own personal style to these images and make them my own.

10 thoughts on “The Office

  1. I like the new clean look to the blog Steven. The image is outstanding. The composition and the processing of this with it’s high dynamic range is well done.

  2. I like the new look! I am going throught he same thing, but can;t think of anything! Might just keep what I have… it serves its purpose. Nice work btw! Love the perspective and processing!

  3. Great new look, Steven. Fresh and clean appearance with this theme. Makes your images really pop with this background and white page. One suggestion if I may, You may consider limiting the number of posts that appear on your home page. Currently it appears to show the entire archive, which means one will be scrolling that mouse wheel for days. There is no right or wrong, just an observation.

    I really dig today’s image with this spacious office area. Very nicely processed and I love the light from the windows. Nice work, man.

  4. Pingback: - Gregory Allen Deese

Leave a Reply

