Boston Tea Party

I realized the other day that I don’t spend nearly enough time photographing Boston, especially considering I work there every day.  So I started to remedy this the other night with an impromptu shoot after work.  The sky decided not to participate in my plans around sunset, but I was able to grab some pre-blue hour shots of the skyline.  This is a 4 shot panorama of downtown looking across Fort Point Channel.  The red building and ship in the middle are part of the Boston Tea Party Museum which was recently renovated and reopened.  I haven’t had a chance to take a tour, but plan to make a visit some time soon.  As for the image, I’m still working on my pano skills, and definitely need some practice as evidenced by the distortion throughout the image.  I’m certainly pleased with the result, but recognize I need to keep at it.

14 thoughts on “Boston Tea Party

  1. I think you’re being a bit hard on yourself, Steven. I don’t see any distortion that bothers me in this. I love the colours in this and that old style red building towards the left provides an excellent counterbalance to the skyscrapers. Nice Pano

  2. Not a bad pano! Just remember to give yourself at least a 1/3 overlap on each image to that the merge can do it’s work properly. If you can afford it get a pano kit from Really Right Stuff so that you can create the perfect pivot point. A tilt/shift lens works as well.

  3. I agree with Andy, you are being a bit harsh on yourself. There might me some minor distortions but this is still a very nice image. The red museum building and the ship in the harbor are the perfect counterpoints to the modern high-rises.

  4. Pingback: Across the Channel | Perlmutter Photography

Leave a Reply

