Room at the Top of the Stairs

Today’s image is one that I’m excited about because it’s something that I’ve wanted to try for a while.  This is a vertical panorama, or vertorama as I’ve seen them called, from the Stone Mill in Lawrence, MA.   I was shooting there the other day with the very talented Bob Lussier, and we spent a fair amount of time trying all sorts of angles and compositions in this room.  I lingered for a while, and right before I was about to move on to a new location, it occurred to me that this could be a good spot for a vertorama so I fired off 5 sets of brackets from the floor up to the ceiling.  When I processed them last night, I was really pleased that it was indeed a good place for one of these shots.   Vertoramas really create an interesting perspective in a room, in this case making the room seem much longer than it actually is.  Now I can’t wait to find other opportunities in rooms like this to try these some more.

10 thoughts on “Room at the Top of the Stairs

    • Thanks Andy. This was a small space so I used a 18-70 lens. Ideally I believe telephoto lenses work better, but in tight spaces it’s not always possible. This was my first attempt at one of these, so I think I’ll need to try some different things in the future.

  1. That was really cool Steven. I clicked on the image to get the larger version. Now im on a 15″ laptop, so not much difference from the post image. But i was pleasantly surprised that I was able to zoom in and really enjoy all the details in the floor ceiling and the windows. Great shot and processing. I never made a vertorama, but Im going to try it out next time im out.

  2. Pingback: Have a Seat | Perlmutter Photography

  3. Pingback: Concrete Walls… and Something New | Perlmutter Photography

Leave a Reply

