Got Grapes?

In addition to the beautiful beaches, over-the-top homes, and occasional celebrity sightings, the eastern end of Long Island is also known for its many vineyards.  I was amazed to learn that there are now nearly 50 wineries spanning both the north and south forks of Long Island, many of which produce some impressive wines.  This image is from the vineyards at Wolffer Estate in Sagaponack, which is not far from our friends’ house where we were visiting last week.  I arrived just before sunrise, and had the entire place to myself.  This was my first attempt at photographing a vineyard, so fortunately or unfortunately I found myself shooting virtually everything I encountered.  Next time I go back, however, I’ll try to focus on just the grapes or the vines, etc., as opposed to the spray and pray method I employed this time.  I’ll have a few more shots to share from here in the coming days.  And in case you’re wondering, I’m not sure exactly which varietal these are, but I can tell you that the wines produced at Wolffers are very good on a warm summer night.  Cheers.

One thought on “Got Grapes?

Leave a Reply

