Evening Glow

I haven’t done very much night shooting, but it’s something I would like to try more often.  I usually pack up towards the end of the magic blue hour, but I decided to try some shots the other night when it was truly night.  This is the keeper’s house at Marshall Point Lighthouse in Port Clyde, Maine.  The house is now a museum and store, and they apparently like to leave the lights on at night, for which I said thank you very much.  The interior light combined with the light illuminating the front of the house from the lighthouse itself made for a nice subject against the star-filled sky.  I found it challenging to get an exposure that would show the stars and not blow out the highlights from the house lights.  This exposure was the best compromise I could get.  I was exhausted that night, and didn’t even think about blending multiple exposures.  Oh well, maybe next time.   I’ll have more images to share of this famous lighthouse in future posts.

3 thoughts on “Evening Glow

  1. I just love this one so much, Steven. I’m totally with Jimi on this one, that light that is illuminating the house there is absolutely stellar. Fabulous work, my friend, well worth the effort you went through to capture it!

Leave a comment