Stormy Seas

Today’s image comes to us from Nubble Light in York, Maine.  As I mentioned in a previous post here, I believe that this may be the most photographed lighthouse in the country.  Or at least in New England.  I was there with my 8 year old son this past weekend, and we spent about 45 minutes doing our usual activities.  He climbed all over the rocks, and I took some pictures.  It was pretty windy, and had just rained a bit so some of the rocks were still wet.  I was too nervous watching him climbing around on the wet rocks to get more than a few shots, but I like how this one turned out.  I may have used a shutter speed that was a bit too long, but I still was pleased with the results.  I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of trying get the perfect shot of this iconic lighthouse.

And here’s a black and white conversion as well.  Still deciding which version I like better.

16 thoughts on “Stormy Seas

  1. Great shot, I love the long exposure and think it looks about right, great effect over the rocks. As for which version, the B&W rocks it for me, the tones and contrast are spot on and there is no distractions.

  2. Lighthouse FTW! Hmm, not sure what one I like better. I think it’s because I always think of lighthouses in color unless they are really close up. Strange I’m sure… You really do get a feel for the weather in the color image. Just feels cold.

  3. I love this lighthouse almost as Pemaquid. Very well exposed, Steven. I don’t think it is overexposed at all. I hope that my photos of Nubble turn out half as good as this. Like the color one…

  4. I’ve got to go with the B&W version. The contrast and tone in that is very good – somehow I find the large expanse of ‘brown’ in the foreground of the colour version a little overpowering. The sea is captured very well indeed.

  5. Pingback: Tangled « Perlmutter Photography

  6. Pingback: 78 Fantastic Photography Links You May Have Missed « Photography « Rezalutions

  7. Pingback: 78 Fantastic Photography Links You May Have Missed » Beauty life

  8. Pingback: Winter Light « Perlmutter Photography

Leave a comment